LaTeX forum ⇒ Generalchange the name of "List of Figures"

LaTeX specific issues not fitting into one of the other forums of this category.
iperten
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:53 pm

change the name of "List of Figures"

Postby iperten » Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:30 pm

Dear all,

I use the command
\listoffigures 
to add that list in my report. Then, with
\addcontentsline{toc}{chapter}{List of figures}
, I add it to the table of contents. Here, it appears as "List of figures", but in the page where figures are listed, the title is "List of Figures".

I want "Figures" to have a lowercase "f".

I tried with
\renewcommand*\listfigurename{List of figures}
(even without *) in the preamble, but it does not work.

I tried to modify the name in the report.cls file, but it does not work either.

Can anyone help me on this?

Thank you.
Cheers,
Mattia.

Recommended reading 2021:

LaTeXguide.org • LaTeX-Cookbook.net
LaTeX Beginner's Guide LaTeX Cookbook
User avatar
gmedina
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:45 pm

change the name of "List of Figures"

Postby gmedina » Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:39 pm

Hi,

that is probably because you are loading babel with some option such as english, or similar; in this case, use something like
\addto\captionsenglish{%
  \renewcommand\listfigurename{List of figures}}

Another option would be to write
\renewcommand*\listfigurename{List of figures}

after
\begin{document} and before \listoffigures but I recommend using the first alternative.
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...

iperten
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:53 pm

Re: change the name of "List of Figures"

Postby iperten » Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:36 pm

Dear Gmedina,

thank you! The 2nd alternative worked: the position where I placed it was wrong, but with suggestion now it's fine!

Thanx.

Cheers,
Mattia.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests