LaTeX forum ⇒ Viewers for PDF, PS, and DVIProblem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Information and discussion about output viewers related to LaTeX (e.g. Adobe Reader, Ghostview, YAP, ...)
brian_s
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:33 am

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby brian_s » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:47 am

Hi, I have been using TeXnic Center on and off for the last year or two, I went to use it last week and found it wouldnt work. I have read through this thread and none of the solutions seem to be working. I am currently using TeXnic Center ver 7.01 and have the most up to date version of Adobe reader (8.1.2). When I try build the document I am getting the following in the output screen:

Output Profile: LaTeX => PDF
LaTeX-Result: 0 Errors, 0 Warnings, 0 Bad Boxes, 0 Pages

When I check the folder the .tex file is saved in there is no output pdf file.

I know the code is not the problem as i have tried rebuild projects I have run sucessfully before. Anyone have any suggestions as to what the problem may be?

Thanks
Brian

gurgi
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:49 am

Postby gurgi » Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:09 am

I am a total Latex/TexnicCenter noob, but a moderately competent geek and have had the aforementioned problems with both Acrobat Reader and Foxit (newest versions of both). Last night my Stats homework stopped displaying output using Acrobat after a build so I thought I must have made a big command booboo. Wrong - previously working files failed to dispay (no build errors or warnings) (even after shutdown of prog, followed by hard reboot of system), just no output - first there was the "unable to execute command" window and a texniccenter hard freeze, then with foxit the viewer would open with no document to display. I found the pdf with the other build files in the gsview folder and it showed the changes in build just fine by viewing with either viewer directly. Next I switched the viewer to foxit using the Build/Output Profiles/Viewers menus. No joy. Today I reinstalled the Protext build (lovely package) with acrobat as default viewer and still no joy. On the way to this page I found a posting about making foxit work that said to use the following command "%sBm.pdf -n 1" in the output viewer. So I directed the output viewer to foxit's executable, turned off dde, and used that command line and Bingo! I am up and running again. Foxit beats the knickers off Acrobat for speed and usability, at least at the basic level (I may not think so later but for now I am a fan). I have been whinging and whining about word processors since WordPerfect went point and click, but the LaTeX environment is AWESOME! Thanks everyone, for building and maintaining the software, and for all of youse guys who help us learn to use it. You make the computing world a better place. I hope my little bit of research might help another newbie.

tristof
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:47 pm

Postby tristof » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:57 pm

Hi!
I'm using Adobe Acrobat 8 Professional (version 8.1.2). It looks indeed like the DDE that I used with version 7 of Acrobat to go back to the last page (see http://texnik.dante.de/cgi-bin/mainFAQ.cgi?file=gui/TeXnikCenter) doesn't work anymore. On the other hand, you can use the shortcut "Alt + left arrow" within Acrobat to do that (or go to menu "Display" -> "Go to" -> "Last view") and it works very well.
I hope this will be useful to others (I lost quite some time trying to figure that out).

Christophe

fnk382
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:22 pm

Postby fnk382 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:25 pm

Try adding an extra [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")] to DDE command: See the thread http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/TeXn ... ssage/5312
for more detail.

delycs
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:47 am

Postby delycs » Thu Jul 03, 2008 8:13 am

I found some interesting DDE command, that can help with the GoTo Reader Problem.
[DocGoTo("%bm.pdf",pageNumber)] can applied after [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")] in the "Forward Search" Line. If I specify an explicit pagenumber, the reader will open the Document at this page. The only thing I need is a code for the current pagenumber like %l for the line.

Ludotex
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 9:12 pm

Postby Ludotex » Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:11 pm

It seem that a coruption occurs during a compilation.

My solution for this common error is:
1) to save the tex file under a new name.
2) Compile the project.
3) Close texniccenter and accept the saving of the project (.tcp file)
4) re-open the project
5) Save the tex file under the previous name (replace it)
6) Continue your work because you will be late!!!

Good luck.

Ludovic


Return to “Viewers for PDF, PS, and DVI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest