LaTeX forum ⇒ MakeIndex, Nomenclature, Glossaries and Acronymsglossaries

Information and discussion about MakeIndex - the tool to generate subject indices for LaTeX documents.
Mikerada6
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:55 pm

glossaries

Postby Mikerada6 » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:10 pm

I am using TexnicCenter with Mikitex. I am very confused about the glossaries package. Is there a way to generate a glossary without using command prompt or a secondary file? i just want to have one file which i will compile twice and have a glossary generated from that. Any examples documents of this would be a GREAT help

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9204
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:22 pm

Mikerada6 wrote:[…] Is there a way to generate a glossary without using command prompt or a secondary file? […]

I wonder what you mean with that secondary file. The glossaries package produces like makeindex auxiliary files to get things work. You can integrate the line you type in the command prompt into a TeXnicCenter (TXC) build profile. Put this line into the tab "Postprocessor" of your chosen profile and run it on your document.


Best regards
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

Mikerada6
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:55 pm

Postby Mikerada6 » Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:36 pm

i am trying to create a PDF so what "line" do i put in where?

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9204
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Mon Mar 16, 2009 1:03 am

Mikerada6 wrote:i am trying to create a PDF so what "line" do i put in where?

You spoke about the command prompt and that you typed in a command there with certain parameters. I don't exactly know what you did. But this command line has to be integrated into the according TXC build profile.

Read the glossaries manual (Section 1.1 - Sample Documents, p. 4ff) where the commands for creating a glossary are described. Start TXC, press Alt+F7 and add what you typed in the command prompt to the profile as described in my last reply.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

ehri
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:24 pm

Postby ehri » Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:47 pm

hi there

I ve already read many things about the glossaries package, and i read something about a file called makeglossaries.bat, you told in an older forum-entry, that this should be installed in the directory where the file glossaries.sty exists.
but i ve found out it isnt there. how is it possible to get this batch file? i think with out it it is not possible to make an acronym-list, is it?

it was not possible for me to creat an acronym-list.
in my .acr file I do not find any entries, do I write the commands in right order?

here my commands in preamble:

\usepackage[style=altlist,acronym,toc]{glossaries}
\makeindex \makeglossaries
\newglossaryentry{DSS}{name=DSS,description={Design/Decision Support System, Entscheidungshilfswerkzeug}}

later in document:
\printglossary[type=\acronymtype]

should it work in that way?
thx for help!
ehri

ehri
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:24 pm

Postby ehri » Tue Jun 02, 2009 2:57 pm

so I think I ve got it with that problem befor.

but i ve two other questions:

1. i wanna make only acronyms and no other glossaries, is it possible to show in the table of contents "Acronyms" and not "Glossary"?

2. I dont want to make a reference between the acronym and the normal text, is it possible to switch of the pagenumbering in the acronym?

thx!

User avatar
nlct
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 11:15 am

Postby nlct » Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:57 pm

ehri wrote:1. i wanna make only acronyms and no other glossaries, is it possible to show in the table of contents "Acronyms" and not "Glossary"?

Either
  1. \renewcommand{\glossaryname}{Acronyms}

or
  1. \usepackage[acronym]{glossaries}

2. I dont want to make a reference between the acronym and the normal text, is it possible to switch of the pagenumbering in the acronym?

  1. \usepackage[nonumberlist]{glossaries}

Regards
Nicola Talbot


Return to “MakeIndex, Nomenclature, Glossaries and Acronyms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest