LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralFootnote problem in RevTex

LaTeX specific issues not fitting into one of the other forums of this category.
akkedo
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:46 pm

Footnote problem in RevTex

Postby akkedo » Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:05 pm

Hi All

I am using revtex for writing a scientific article and hit a problem with footnotes.
Making a footnote (\footnote{test}) results in [? ] upon compiling the document.
I have read the documentation for footnotes in revtex and it is supported as in normal LaTeX.
Anyone know the solution to this problem?

My preamble:
\documentclass[pra,twocolumn,a4paper]{revtex4-1}
\usepackage[utf8]{inputenc}
\usepackage{siunitx}
\usepackage{graphicx}
%\usepackage{hyperref}

Note that I normally use hyperref but in this instance have disabled it for debugging purposes.

I would greatly appreciate any help I can get for this problem.

User avatar
T3.
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:58 pm

Postby T3. » Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:27 am

akkedo wrote:I am using revtex for writing a scientific article and hit a problem with footnotes.
Making a footnote (\footnote{test}) results in [? ] upon compiling the document.

Did you run bibtex? RevTeX puts footnotes together with references.

Cheers,

Tomek

akkedo
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:46 pm

Postby akkedo » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:57 pm

Worked like a charm! Thanks so much for your help. Didn't know that RevTex ran footnotes together with BibTex.

Best regards,
Akkedo

vanysh
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:13 pm

Postby vanysh » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm

akkedo wrote:Worked like a charm! Thanks so much for your help. Didn't know that RevTex ran footnotes together with BibTex.

Best regards,
Akkedo


Hi there!

I'm having the same problem with the [?] in the footnotes but I don't know how to "run bibtex" in order to solve it. How did you do that?

Thanks in advance,
Vanysh.

User avatar
frabjous
Posts: 2064
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:20 am

Postby frabjous » Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:45 am

You run bibtex just like you run latex itself, except you run it on the .aux file rather than the .tex file. So if you were using the command line, instead of:

  1. latex filename.tex


you'd run

  1. bibtex filename.aux


But most people don't use the command line; they have an editor that does this sort of thing for them. Most likely your editor has a menu option or button for running bibtex, but if you want help with that, at least tell us what operating system and editor you're using!

(You'll need to rerun LaTeX, probably twice, after running BiBTeX.)

fausto_ramos
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:13 pm

Postby fausto_ramos » Wed Apr 13, 2011 1:29 pm

T3. wrote:
Did you run bibtex? RevTeX puts footnotes together with references.

Cheers,

Tomek


Is it ok to put footnotes together with references? The former ones are supposed to be on the page bottom. In fact, I arrived to this forum because I thought it was an error of RevTeX or AIAA.cls.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests