LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralAlways the same error but can't solve it

LaTeX specific issues not fitting into one of the other forums of this category.
Youxis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:40 pm

Always the same error but can't solve it

Postby Youxis » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:44 pm

Hello, i need help, i have this error message :


! Missing $ inserted.
<inserted text>
$
l.41 ...ateriaux-quand-la-houle-contourne-le-port_
133017},
I've inserted a begin-math/end-math symbol since I think
you left one out. Proceed, with fingers crossed.
! Extra }, or forgotten $.
l.41 ...x-quand-la-houle-contourne-le-port_133017}
,
I've deleted a group-closing symbol because it seems to be
spurious, as in `$x}$'. But perhaps the } is legitimate and
you forgot something else, as in `\hbox{$x}'. In such cases
the way to recover is to insert both the forgotten and the
deleted material, e.g., by typing `I$}'.
! Missing $ inserted.
<inserted text>
$
l.43
I've inserted a begin-math/end-math symbol since I think
you left one out. Proceed, with fingers crossed.
! Missing } inserted.
<inserted text>
}
l.43
I've inserted something that you may have forgotten.
(See the <inserted text> above.)
With luck, this will get me unwedged. But if you
really didn't forget anything, try typing `2' now; then
my insertion and my current dilemma will both disappear.

I don't understand what is the problem, if someone can help because i tried during 1 days to solve it, but i'm beginner so i'm not expert as you=P.

Thank's for your answer

User avatar
Ijon Tichy
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:12 am

Postby Ijon Tichy » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:02 pm

It seems that there is somewhere (line 41, but unknown of which file) a word with underscore. The underscore is only allowed a index command character in math mode. To set an underscore in text mode you have to use \_ or verbatim, e.g., \verb|_|, or a package like url that provides, e.g., \url{file_name_with_underscore.tex}.

If the problem is inside a command, that writes code to an auxiliary file, the problem can still persist if you solve the mistake in the document. Sometimes it helps to do two instead of only one LaTeX run after fixing the mistake. If this does not help, you would have to delete the auxiliary file(s).

This is all somehow speculative. If you need more help, please show us a Infominimal working example, that can be used to reproduce and analyze the problem. Such a Infominimal working example is always recommended, to make the live of helpers somehow easier and to get less speculative answers.

Youxis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:40 pm

Postby Youxis » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:33 pm

This is the github for the latex file :
https://github.com/Youxis1/Youxis1/blob/master/Test.tex
and for the bibli :
https://github.com/Youxis1/Youxis1/blob ... /bibli.bib

If it can help you

User avatar
Ijon Tichy
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:12 am

Postby Ijon Tichy » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:40 pm

Is it really necessary that every helper minimizes the code of every help searcher? Wouldn't it be better, if the help searchers try to minimize the code once on their own? A really almost minimal (but working example) is almost ever small enough to not need github to distribute it, but to put it in a code environment here. The would also result in questions, that can be valid much longer than the problem exists in the github project. So the question and solution can help other help searchers too.

Bartman
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:39 pm

Postby Bartman » Thu Mar 26, 2020 10:53 pm

Off-topic hints:

A paragraph ends with an empty line and not with a \\ macro. Change the \parskip command or use the package of the same name to increase the spacing between paragraphs.

Take a look at the csquotes package.

Many different environments can help to set equations. The mathmode document shows examples of how they can be used.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests