LaTeX forum ⇒ DevelopmentTeXnicCenter 2.0 Alpha 1 - Issues

Information and discussion about the TeXnicCenter development. This is the place to go for TeXnicCenter core and wizard developers.
SteveG
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:19 pm

Re: TeXnicCenter 2.0 Alpha 1 - Issues

Postby SteveG » Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:32 pm

Hello Sergiu,

ok, tried that. But get three errors with IniFile.cpp (MFCExt)
(see the attachments and rename the files to *.htm, because *.htm are not
allowed and only the debug log of TeXnicCenter Project is included, because
the numer of files are limited to 3)

And I get an error in the TeXnicCenter Project:

Error 93 error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Writing Subversion Build Number" TeXnicCenter TeXnicCenter

edit: All four errors ocures in Win SDK 6.1 (Vista) and Win SDK 7.0 (Windows 7)

Steve
Attachments
TeXnicCenter_Debug_BuildLog.txt
(33.86 KiB) Downloaded 275 times
MFCExt_Release_BuildLog.txt
(12.96 KiB) Downloaded 259 times
MFCExt_Debug_BuildLog.txt
(13.7 KiB) Downloaded 376 times

U-Jean
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:16 pm

Postby U-Jean » Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:12 am

The "Writing Subversion Build Number"-Error is because your apparently did not use the TortoiseSVN's "SVN Update" function to get the source

For the other errors:
It appears that you have used the debug and/or the release profile: but you have to choose either the UNICODE debug or the UNICODE Release. The normal debug and release profiles are not supported anymore and will not compile correctly.

SteveG
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:19 pm

Postby SteveG » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:23 pm

Hello U-Jean,

thanks. Forgot that with the Unicode Debug/Release build configuration.
I temporarily installed tortoisesvn tu get the repository.
But it would be good if svn would work with every svn Tool,
because the tortoise consumes much memory and it isn't really a help.
The svn commandline versions with a script are IMHO and
for me more useful.

Anywas: Now its compiling (except help, but copied that from Alpha Installer)
Thank you. Works now fine on "Windows 7 Professional (en) 32 Bit".

Steve.

SteveG
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:19 pm

Postby SteveG » Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:02 pm

Hello,

Remark:
The 1064 build (build on Windows 7, Visual Studio 2008sp1, Win SDK 6.1 for Win7) doesn't
run on my Windows XP (SP3) Notebook (IBM T42)
If I start txc, it dies after the gui is started and the debugger is asking how to debug.
The (Alpha) 1012 build works fine with XP, but not the 1064 Source tree

S.

U-Jean
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:16 pm

Postby U-Jean » Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:26 pm

Cannot confirm, Build 1064 runs fine on Win7 x64 and WinXP-SP3

Sergiu
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:21 pm

Postby Sergiu » Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:27 pm

SteveG wrote:Hello,

Remark:
The 1064 build (build on Windows 7, Visual Studio 2008sp1, Win SDK 6.1 for Win7) doesn't
run on my Windows XP (SP3) Notebook (IBM T42)
If I start txc, it dies after the gui is started and the debugger is asking how to debug.
The (Alpha) 1012 build works fine with XP, but not the 1064 Source tree

S.


You can't run those builds side by side. Next time before reporting issues for developer builds make sure you also read the comments for each revision.
TeXnicCenter Developer
http://www.texniccenter.org/

rockstar1707
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby rockstar1707 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:54 pm

There seams to be a problem with the autocompletion. I believe it is connected to the encoding.

Autocompletion doesn't work if the line, in which you request it (by pressing CTRL + SPACE), consists of non ASCII characters. The problem appears in a document encoded in UTF-8 when using some "Central European" letters. If I delete those letters from the words, the autocompletion works again. Again, this happens only in lines with non ASCII characters.

The other problem, which is most probably connected to encoding as well, is about spell checking. In UTF-8 document, the spell checker doesn't recognize words with non ASCII characters. I tried to change the encoding of the DIC files from WINDOWS-1250 to UTF-8, but it didn't help. The question is also, which encoding should be used for dictionary files. In TXC1 spell checking worked OK if DIC files were encoded in WINDOWS-1250.

Sergiu
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:21 pm

Postby Sergiu » Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:35 am

Please fill a report containing the exact steps that allow to reproduce your problem.

rockstar1707 wrote:The other problem, which is most probably connected to encoding as well, is about spell checking. In UTF-8 document, the spell checker doesn't recognize words with non ASCII characters. I tried to change the encoding of the DIC files from WINDOWS-1250 to UTF-8, but it didn't help. The question is also, which encoding should be used for dictionary files. In TXC1 spell checking worked OK if DIC files were encoded in WINDOWS-1250.


The encoding of the .dic file must match the one indicated in the corresponding .aff file, e.g. SET CP1250 or SET UTF-8. Most European dictionaries use ISO 8859 though.
TeXnicCenter Developer
http://www.texniccenter.org/

rockstar1707
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby rockstar1707 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:13 am

Sergiu wrote:Please fill a report containing the exact steps that allow to reproduce your problem.

rockstar1707 wrote:...


The encoding of the .dic file must match the one indicated in the corresponding .aff file, e.g. SET CP1250 or SET UTF-8. Most European dictionaries use ISO 8859 though.


Thanks for the answer. I didn't know about that "SET UTF-8" in *.aff file.

And I'll fill a bug report for the autocompletion.

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Fri Nov 20, 2009 5:06 pm

New Issue: Short freeze when tab bar becomes overfull


I reported another issue in context with opening a project with many files that don't fit all into the tab bar [1]. Perhaps one of the developers can take a look at it.

[1] View topic: Scrollable tab bar of open files


Best regards
Thorsten
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1


Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest