LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralPackcage "glossaries" with TeXnicCenter - No glossary!

General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter
ollagnij
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:31 pm

Packcage "glossaries" with TeXnicCenter - No glossary!

Postby ollagnij » Wed Feb 13, 2008 4:44 pm

Hi!

I am using the following very simple programme which is an example of the glossary package:

  1. \documentclass[a4paper]{article}
  2.  
  3. \usepackage[style=long4colheader]{glossaries}
  4. \makeglossaries
  5.  
  6. \newglossaryentry{w}{name={$w$},
  7. sort=w,
  8. description={width},
  9. symbol=m}
  10.  
  11. \newglossaryentry{M}{name={$M$},
  12. sort=M,
  13. description={mass},
  14. symbol={kg}}
  15.  
  16. \begin{document}
  17. \printglossaries
  18. The width, \gls{w}, is measured in meters. The mass, \gls{M} is
  19. measured in kilograms.
  20. \end{document}



My problem is that the glossary does not appear after compiling it, whereas if I enter ind the MS-Dos window:

latex filename.tex
makeglossaries filename
latex filename.tex

the filename.dvi contains the glossary.


I wanted to integrate it to TeXnicCenter as follows:

[img=http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/395/makeglossariesqu0.th.jpg]

but after compiling it without error, I don't get the glossary!
and I tried this for the different profiles:
LateX=>DVI
LateX=>PDF
LateX=>PS
LateX=>PS=>PDF

somebody told me to check the makeindex transcript file (.glg) for errors.
but I don't get any glg file.

Does somebody knows what is wrong with my configuration?

Thank you in advance for your answer!

JB

dimarcom
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:03 am

Postby dimarcom » Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am

I'd be interested too in the solution to this issue... I thought i'd post a reply to reactivate the topic...

Have a nice day !

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:31 pm

I suggest to replace the makeglossaries.bat as shown in the picture with makeglossaries.exe. The documentation of the glossaries package introduces a Perl script (Section 1.1 - Generating the associated glossary files, p. 3), but it seems the executable does the same job.


Best regards
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

JohanLingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:08 pm

Postby JohanLingen » Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:38 pm

Hello Thorsten, could you tell me where I can find the makeglossaries.exe file?

I downloaded the glossaries package, followed all steps in the install manual, refreshed database and format files using MiKTeX. I defined makeglossaries.bat as shown by the picture in the first post. I also installed ActivePerl, but that made no difference: The words from glossary entries are shown, but the glossary itself doesn't show.

JohanLingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:08 pm

Postby JohanLingen » Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:58 pm

It appears that I also had to reboot the computer... maybe ActivePerl required that.

I can no see a glossary! It doesn't show in the PDF document's structure however, can that be fixed somehow?

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:54 pm

JohanLingen wrote:Hello Thorsten, could you tell me where I can find the makeglossaries.exe file? [...]

This executable (as every executable for MiKTeX) can be found in the MiKTeX installation tree.
  1. C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.7\miktex\bin

JohanLingen wrote:[...] I defined makeglossaries.bat as shown by the picture in the first post. [...]

And that's exactly the false step (as I already said). I don't know where this batch file can be found. Perl scripts have a .pl suffix. Try to find out which options are accepted by makeglossaries.exe on the command prompt.
  1. makeglossaries --help

Add the options you need as command line arguments in the build profile of TeXnicCenter. Since I never did any glossaries, that's all I can tell you.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

JohanLingen
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:08 pm

Postby JohanLingen » Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:57 am

There is no such file in the MiKTeX directories, I searched them all.

However, with ActivePerl installed, I can see a glossary now (the previous post contained one word too much: "no"). It can be shown in the TOC by defining it as an option:

\usepackage[toc]{glossaries}

rppein
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:58 pm

Postby rppein » Tue May 20, 2008 3:09 pm

I used the "glossary" package instead of "glossaries", but it was essentially the same problem. I tried to add "makeglossaries.exe" to the output postprocessor (for some reason the "makeglos.bat" and "makeglos.pl" were absent after installation). The compiler didn't find perl to execute "makeglossaries.exe".

I found another solution by writing down the parameters on my own. As they are stored in the profile and executed automatically, there seems to be no further advantage of using the perl-script. If you want to split the glossary from the acronyms, just add the second postprocessor.

makeGlossary
Executable: makeindex.exe
Arguments: -s "%bm".ist -t "%bm".glg -o "%bm".gls "%bm".glo

makeAcronym
Executable: makeindex.exe
Arguments: -s "%bm".ist -t "%bm".alg -o "%bm".acr "%bm".acn

--- edit ---

http://theoval.cmp.uea.ac.uk/~nlct/late ... 0000000000

The advantage of the Perl script seems to be the simplified use of multiple glossaries in parallel. Oherwise you need to keep track of each file on its own.

Archiddeon
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 10:50 pm

Postby Archiddeon » Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:04 pm

Hi all,

After many hours of googling and experimenting with various options, I finally found a method that works for me (I tried the other ones mentioned in this thread, but they never worked ... I kept getting strange errors from makeindex and my glossary never displayed).

Anyways, the method ... I'm going to make this as simple as possible for people like myself who read some of these posts and get completely lost :P

Firstly download and install the Glossaries package (note GlossarIES, not GlossarY)
Ensure that the file makeglossaries.bat ends up in your appropriate installation directory ... mine, for instance, is "C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\glossaries\makeglossaries.bat"

Now, click Build and select "Define Output Profiles"
I use LaTeX to PS so select "LaTeX => PS" and select the Postprocessor tab
Create a new postprocess (I named mine "makeglossaries")
In the executable box, enter "C:\Program Files\MiKTeX 2.7\tex\latex\glossaries\makeglossaries.bat" (with the quotations!) or wherever you placed the makeglossaries.bat file
In the arguments box, enter "%tm" (again with the quotations!)
Now run as per normal and it should work :)

For testing I used a file with the code:

  1. \documentclass{article}
  2. \usepackage[acronym]{glossaries} % make a separate list of acronyms
  3. \makeindex
  4. \makeglossaries
  5. \newglossaryentry{sample}{name={[has been inserted]},
  6. description={testing testing 123}}
  7. \newacronym{aca}{aca}{a contrived acronym}
  8. \begin{document}
  9. \section{this is a test section}
  10. This is the test line ... a \gls{sample} entry and \gls{aca}.
  11. \printglossaries
  12. \end{document}


in the directory "C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Desktop\glossary test"

I hope this helps anyone who is still stuck with glossaries not displaying!

-A

Mikerada6
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 5:55 pm

Postby Mikerada6 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:28 pm

i tried doing as you said but i get an error:
" 'perl' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

and i can not get ANY output file.

I am one of those people you mention who get's lost easily so easier is better. Thank you


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests