LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralLarge dialog boxes are too large

General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter
hanzo2001
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:09 pm

Large dialog boxes are too large

Postby hanzo2001 » Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:25 pm

The title says it all. My main beef is with "define output profiles" as it spills below the edge of my screen and the save, cancel buttons are out of reach.

I've tried all sorts of window move and magnifying glass features but I still cannot reach the bottom.

Can anybody give me a hand and drop me a snapshot of this dialogue box? (buttons are reachable with tab)

I have an open thread on StackExchange (Super User: http://superuser.com/questions/879359/how-can-i-see-bottom-of-dialogue-box-that-is-offscreen) just in case someone can reach a final solution.

PS: I forgot some important info

OS: windows 8.1
Editor: TeXnicCenter 2.02 (Stable) 64bit

Tags:

User avatar
Johannes_B
Site Moderator
Posts: 3795
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:08 pm

Postby Johannes_B » Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:56 pm

Hi and welcome, by now, you have 3 answers at SuperUser. Crossposting isn't a problem, if you crosslink as well. Thanks, i am a smiling moderator right now.

I hope the answers are actually helping. Can you summarize the working solution here as well?
The smart way: Calm down and take a deep breath, read posts and provided links attentively, try to understand and ask if necessary.

hanzo2001
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:09 pm

Postby hanzo2001 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:05 am

The solution that worked for me presented at superuser.com is How can I see bottom of dialogue box that is offscreen? by user MonkeyZeus. Mind you it's a temporary solution that kills my neck (change orientation of the screen to portrait) but it solved the problem of accessing buttons that were offscreen.


MonkeyZeus wrote:Assuming you have a natively widescreen monitor:

It might sound silly but you need more vertical screen real estate so the only temporary solution would be to rotate your screen by 90 degrees.

Set the orientation to portrait and then reverse the resolution setting. In my screenshot I would need to set the resolution to 1200x1920 if I want to use portrait mode.
A screenshot can be found over at SuperUser as well.


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests