LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralCompiled PDF not opened in Adobe Reader 11 Topic is solved

General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter
mcassey
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:11 pm

Compiled PDF not opened in Adobe Reader 11

Postby mcassey » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:27 pm

I am using TeXnicCenter 2.0 Beta 1 (64 bit). I have Adobe Reader 11 installed. Up until today, I had no problem building a .tex file and viewing it in Adobe Reader 11. Suddenly I started having a problem: the compilation works fine, the .pdf file is created and I can open it manually in Adobe Reader 11. But if I use the "Build and view current file" button, after compilation it hangs up for about 20 seconds then gives me an error dialog:
[DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Cannot execute the command

If I go to Build -> Define Output Profiles... -> Viewer the Executable path is
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Reader 11.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe
This path is correct. View project's output has the DDE command radio button selected with command
[DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]
Forward search is identical with Server: acroviewR10 and Topic control,
and Close document before running (La)TeX is almost identical but the command is
[DocClose("%bm.pdf")]

Can anyone please identify the problem and suggest a solution?

Tags:

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:39 pm

Not a solution, only an idea.

Think about using Sumatra PDF with TeXnicCenter (TXC). It is now the preferred viewer and has lots of beneficial features for LaTeX users, e.g. forward and inverse search in PDF output via SyncTeX. And it does not lock opened files but updates automatically if it detects changes.

You can keep the Ad0be Reader installed. PDF files opened in Sumatra can be opened in Ad0be Reader via menu. Install Sumatra, then start TXC, press Alt+F7 and start the wizard anew (see attachment).


Thorsten
Attachments
TXC2b1-Wizard.png
The "Profiles" dialogue window in TXC2b1.
TXC2b1-Wizard.png (45.04 KiB) Viewed 35404 times
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

mcassey
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 1:11 pm

Postby mcassey » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:49 am

localghost,

Since no one else has responded to my post, I have reluctantly decided to switch to Sumatra pdf. It seems to be working fine. Thank you for your suggestion.

Regards,
Michael

Bruno Montenegro
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:21 pm

Postby Bruno Montenegro » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:31 pm

Michael,

I'm new to this forum, but I used to have the same problem as you. The solution in my case was this:

Go to "Define Output Profiles" and in the "Viewer" tab you have to change, on the "Server" section, acroview for AcroViewR11. More details here.

I'm using MikTex 2.9 and TeXnicCenter 1.0.

Hope it works for you!

All the best,
B.

MartinC
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:09 pm

Postby MartinC » Thu Mar 21, 2013 7:19 pm

Anyway Sumatrapdf is much better than Acrobat Reader, especially when editing Latex documents.

Catherine Liao
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 8:58 pm

Postby Catherine Liao » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:00 pm

Thank you Bruno! I changed A10 to A11, and things started working for me.

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm

Postby localghost » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:16 pm

Once again. The Ad0be Reader is not recommendable when editing LaTeX documents because it is uncomfortable regarding forward and inverse search between source code and PDF output. It does not support SyncTeX and therefore is only usable for viewing (and perhaps printing) the finalized document. The developers of TeXnicCenter (TXC) have decided for good reasons to make Sumatra PDF the standard viewer.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

yrick27
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:14 am

Postby yrick27 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 10:07 am

if you are in windows 8 .. do this


1. right click - properties - compatibility -
for me i select windows xp service pack 3 .
done . ..

2. open the program then a window will pop up .. just select open secure mode all the time ..

.. done ..


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests