LaTeX forum ⇒ Graphics, Figures & TablesHow not to number figures?

Information and discussion about graphics, figures & tables in LaTeX documents.
sarah
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:31 am

How not to number figures?

Postby sarah » Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:38 am

I am making a poster with sciposter.
I would like to add a legend to my pictures, without getting the number of the figure. I usually use \caption but I do not manage to eliminate the "Figure 1:" and to keep the following text.
My question is thus: how can I title my figures without getting a number?
Thanks for your help
Sarah

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:57 am

Include the caption package and use its \caption* command to get only the actual caption of a figure.


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

sarah
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:31 am

Postby sarah » Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:36 pm

Thanks for your quick answer and for your help.
I tried what you've suggested but it unfortunately does not work. Here is the message I get:

! LaTeX Error: \ContinuedFloat outside float.
See the LaTeX manual or LaTeX Companion for explanation.
Type H <return> for immediate help.
..
l.55 \caption*
{Impact on a glass plate leading to its fragmentation \sma...

?
I did include the package caption.

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Sun Apr 19, 2009 7:45 pm

I wonder what the \ContinuedFloat command has to do with that. Build a minimal working example (MWE) that exactly produces this error.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

User avatar
sommerfee
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:20 pm
Contact:

Postby sommerfee » Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:08 pm

localghost wrote:I wonder what the \ContinuedFloat command has to do with that.


The old version 3.0 of the caption package used \ContinuedFloat within its \caption* code.

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Sun Apr 19, 2009 8:56 pm

sommerfee wrote:The old version 3.0 of the caption package used \ContinuedFloat within its \caption* code.

I see. But this fact can only be well known the author himself. Thanks for this information.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

sarah
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:31 am

Postby sarah » Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:50 am

I am using the Version 3.141592-1.40.3
I tried a simpler case with a \documentclass[]{article}, and it works.
When I make a poster, I use \documentclass[]{sciposter}, and it does not work anymore. Apparently, it has something to do with this sciposter...
I also use the command \section*{}, which has the effect not to number the sections.
Thanks for your help
Sarah

User avatar
sommerfee
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:20 pm
Contact:

Postby sommerfee » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:35 am

sarah wrote:I am using the Version 3.141592-1.40.3


That is the version of TeX itself, not the version of the caption package. If you want to know the version of the caption package, take a look at your log file which is generated when processing your document. One should find a line like this in it:
  1. ) (C:\Programme\MiKTeX\tex\latex\caption\caption.sty
  2. Package: caption 2008/08/24 v3.1j Customizing captions (AR)


When I make a poster, I use \documentclass[]{sciposter}, and it does not work anymore. Apparently, it has something to do with this sciposter...


The caption package does not work with the sciposter document class. This class has its very own macros for customizing the caption stuff.

Instead of using the caption package and \caption* you could give
  1. \renewcommand\capstart[1]{}\caption{Some text...}

a try. (Haven't tried it but should hopefully work.)

HTH,
Axel

P.S.: Seems to work:
  1. \documentclass{sciposter}
  2.  
  3. \begin{document}
  4.  
  5. \begin{figure}
  6. \centering
  7. Some text\ldots
  8. \renewcommand\capstart[1]{}\caption{Some text}
  9. \end{figure}
  10.  
  11. \end{document}

sarah
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:31 am

Postby sarah » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:56 am

It works, thank you!

C_Romero
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:03 am

Postby C_Romero » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:15 am

I am working in the sidecap environment, i.e. I have done:

\usepackage{sidecap}
...
\begin{SCfigure*}[5]
\includegraphics[width=0.15\textwidth]{Figure.eps}
\caption{text}
\end{SCfigure*}

and I want to use \caption*{} to not have the figure numbered, but that just screws up the formatting and I can see it numbered at the edge of the physical page (it runs off the page).

I've searched around for ways to /renewcommand on something...looked trough the documentation on caption.pdf, sidecap.pdf and am mostly lost. I tried a few things but didn't get anywhere.

*sigh*


Return to “Graphics, Figures & Tables”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests