LaTeX forum ⇒ Feature SuggestionsJump to line with error

Suggestions and discussions for new TeXnicCenter features
Hans Nieuwenhuis
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:05 am

Jump to line with error

Postby Hans Nieuwenhuis » Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:08 am

I would like to be able to jump to the line which has an error if I double click on an error message.

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:40 am

This feature is already implemented.


Best regards
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

Hans Nieuwenhuis
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:05 am

Postby Hans Nieuwenhuis » Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:59 pm

Great! But I've never managed to jump to the right line....it's not jumping at all :) How should I use that feature? I'm using TeXnicCenter 1 beta 7.50

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:27 pm

I don't know what you do but this feature works fine for me. I built in an error in my source and started a run. The compiler gives an error message which you have to search by scrolling the "Build" area at the bottom of the TeXnicCenter main window. The error is marked. A double click leads me to the source of error in the code. See the attached screenshot.
TXCerrorjump.png
Jumping to the source of error by clicking the message in the log file.
TXCerrorjump.png (80.16 KiB) Viewed 10580 times
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 42.2 (Linux 4.4.52), TeX Live 2016 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.6.1

Hans Nieuwenhuis
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:05 am

Postby Hans Nieuwenhuis » Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:35 pm

Yep, that's how I expect it to work and what I've tried about 10 times and with different documents. But for me it doesn't work. If I double click in the build window on an error, nothing happens. If I double click in the build window on a warning, I hear the well know sound that something went wrong, but that's all...nothing else happens.

I'm using Windows XP Professional SP3 , MikTex 2.7 and TeXnicCenter 1 beta 7.50

What can I do to diagnose this more?

Hedron
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:52 pm

Postby Hedron » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:57 pm

Hans Nieuwenhuis wrote:Yep, that's how I expect it to work and what I've tried about 10 times and with different documents. But for me it doesn't work. If I double click in the build window on an error, nothing happens. If I double click in the build window on a warning, I hear the well know sound that something went wrong, but that's all...nothing else happens.

I'm using Windows XP Professional SP3 , MikTex 2.7 and TeXnicCenter 1 beta 7.50

What can I do to diagnose this more?


For me it works with MikTex 2.4 and TeXnicCenter 1 beta 7.50.
But for the same project compiled with MikTex 2.6 it does not work!

dba
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:27 pm

Postby dba » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:29 pm

I have this same problem, except that sometimes it works (i.e. it jumps to the error line) and sometimes it doesn't (it just stays put). So there seems to be some toggle that turns this jumping on or off. But I don't know what it is!

Hedron
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:52 pm

Postby Hedron » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:21 pm

Hedron wrote:For me it works with MikTex 2.4 and TeXnicCenter 1 beta 7.50.
But for the same project compiled with MikTex 2.6 it does not work!

Now i tried to uninstall all MikTex stuff and TeXnicCenter and then reinstall MikTex 2.7.
After that, i reinstalled TeXnicCenter 7.50 and tried again:
If compiling to dvi or ps everything works fine and TeXnicCenter jumps to the specific lines
If compiling directly to pdf TeXnicCenter does not jump to the specific line in the source code.

Hans Nieuwenhuis
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:05 am

Postby Hans Nieuwenhuis » Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:03 am

I'm also using pdfLatex, and can't jump to the line with the error by double clicking on an error, so I expect the cause of the problem lies in using pdfLatex.

MartinC
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:09 pm

Postby MartinC » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:44 pm

I have no problem here with pdflatex. Could you post a minimal example that shows such a behaviour?


Return to “Feature Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest